Director Election Results

At the Go Center annual membership meeting, Sunday, March 24, 2019, we filled three positions on our nine member Board of Directors.  Since we had more candidates than positions, we had an election using secret ballots. 

Hikojiro (Hiko) Katsuhisa will be continuing on the Board for another three years.  Hiko is our main liason with the Nihon Ki-in, so it is great to have him continue.  A strong Go player, he also teaches Japanese.

Lucy Lu Wang will be returning soon to Seattle, and to the Board of Directors.  She has been one of our most active and effective volunteers.  In her statement she said, “As a member of the BoD, I would like to focus on growing our community, and making the Go Center a friendly, vibrant, and diverse place for all of us to do the thing we love: playing more go.”

Peter Kron, a long time Seattle Go Player, will be joining the Board for the first time.  He has helped us at outreach events for many years, and is now the lead teacher of the Go Club at Challenger Elementary, near Issaquah.  He also teaches at the McDonald Go Club, and is a math tutor.

Rick Campbell has served 6 years on the Board, but decided not run again when he saw we had enough candidates.  His advice on governance and personnel issues has always been very helpful. Rick is a regular on Tuesdays, and at Pair Go events.

David Snow completed his three year term on the Board of Directors.  He continues to be one of our most dedicated teachers, coming to almost all of our outreach events, and also helping with the Go Class at the Northwest Chinese School in Bellevue.  Thanks David!

At the Board of Directors Meeting following the Annual Meeting, the officers of the Seattle Go Center were chosen.  They are:

  • President: Anne Thompson
  • Vice President: Bill Chiles
  • Secretary: Peter Kron
  • Treasurer: Solomon Cho

We would especially like to thank Lee Anne Bowie, our outgoing President, for her service.  Lee Anne is continuing on the board, so we won’t lose her counsel.  We are pleased that our tradition of female leadership will continue with Anne Thompson, who was most recently Secretary.  She also served on the Board from 2013 – 2016.  Bill Chiles will continue as VP.  He has been very busy with committee work.  Solomon Cho will continue as Treasurer.  Thanks to Peter Kron for taking on the Secretary position, which is really important to our organization, but sometimes a lot of work.

— Brian A. / Mike M.